Smashing Goals Team Mills Style

Numerous times I have made blog posts about how stressed I feel with my teacher training, about life and how stuck I feel. However, I never posted them because in the back of my mind I knew it was all temporary and I thought I’d hang fire for this blog post (which I thought would never come). I kind of can’t believe I’m writing this!

On Wednesday 10th May I completed my teacher training course AND gained my first teaching job for September! I must admit, it has only just hit me that this is happening! The whole day was quite a shock. I will be teaching social sciences (mainly psychology) in the sixth form of a school, and the place seems like a perfect fit for me.
Then, on Friday 12th May, I turned 24!

This has been massive for me, for a while now I felt stuck in my current situation, a zero hour contract and training to be a teacher. Essays, observations, never ending work and then no work. It’s been a roller coaster. I felt stuck in terms of me and Scott buying our first house and saving for our wedding, I needed a proper contract and to finish my course. I also felt stressed financially working on a zero hour contract.

I feel so happy and relaxed now. I feel like everything has fallen into line and we can actually begin to make plans for our future rather than just talking about it. I actually know everything will turn out fine, and I don’t need to worry anymore. It’s crazy how a bit of instability can impact your plans for the future.

This weekend I celebrated by having a shopping trip with mum, followed by an Indian meal with mum and Scott. Then on the Saturday me and Scott went shopping and I bought an academic diary to put my new term dates in (sad) and had a Nandos. Saturday night we had our annual Eurovision night with Amy and today (Sunday) we had a trip out to York with my mum and dad. I haven’t had crazy celebrations or gone wild (as you can tell) but relaxing without worry and spending time with people has been exactly what I’ve been lacking. I got a new camera for my birthday so I’ve been snapping away on that, mainly of our cats! I can’t wait to go to Sorrento with it and begin filming videos!

Here are a few photos:

18472611_10158694784220068_1507478396_o
Tommy drooling!
18493689_10158694784075068_1612840427_o
Sooty’s Grumpy Cat impersonation
18472652_10158694784155068_1263780749_o
Scott literally sleeps when ever he sits in a car on a journey

So here’s to the rest of the year! I couldn’t have done this without such amazing support by my side (Scott, friends and family). Our wedding planning can officially commence!

Published by

Becoming Team Mills

Maria and Scott from Yorkshire, planning our Italian wedding in Sorrento.

Leave a Reply

